TESTIMONIALS

July 2015   

Fall river Herald News Quote

For a delicious sandwich and a scoop of homemade ice cream, try Café Arpeggio. It’s green awning and hand-painted windows project a welcoming air and prepare you for what’s inside: a café with an extensive menu and an incredibly friendly staff. If you become a regular, they will know, care, and talk to you. If you’re just stopping in, they’re still happy to chat as they take your order and prepare your food. And when your meal arrives, your visit will be complete when you take that first bite and find out just how tasty the food is.

Special to The Herald News | Madeline Froyd

9/25/2007

It was kind of a sad day when it hit me that this little Cafe may actually be the best place to eat in South Boston. Having lived in the North End for years I got SPOILED - options were endless and food was delicious and I could walk everywhere.

But now, I have to drive (or take my bike in good weather which we have luckily been having a lot of) to get to a cafe. The egg sandwiches, iced tea, Mediterranean salad and Spruce Goose turkey sandwich are among my favorites here.

I am also completely hypnotized by the amazing home-made ice cream in the  case. I fantasize while I wait for my sandwich...but I have yet to give in.      

Sadness aside, I do love this place.

 

Debra L.

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

9/1/2007

Here's the thing: my one-year old kid can scream and throw plastic forks all over the place at this bohemian/relaxed coffee and sandwich joint AND THEY STILL SMILE EVERY TIME THIS HAPPENS.  You think you're the person that hates people - these people restore your faith in humanity.  THE friendliest staff in Town.  Always a smile and a greeting with your order, which, by the way, absolutely should include one of their awesome sandwiches - always done perfectly and timely.  You wouldn't think it, but it's true - the food [breakfast & lunch] is very, very good.  Their salads are always fresh and bountiful, too.  Try their house ice cream for desert and leave completely nourished.

The only chink in the armor - the coffee & espresso drinks can be hit or miss.

 

Brian B.

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

3/24/2007

Great espresso drinks.  Soy milk is always available.

Arpeggio's sandwich menu is definitely underrated.  Get something with veggies and you won't be disappointed.

My only complaint is that the bagels aren't there early enough for me to grab one on the way to work (they arrive around 7, I think?)

 

Kevin D.

 

 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

9/10/2011

I've only had sandwiches/ice cream to-go here, but everything I've had has been good! They do have a few tables, inside and out, if you want to eat there.  

They have a great selection of sandwiches.
My fave sandwich - the Arpeggio Sandwich which has turkey, cranberry-mayo, spinach and tomato on this amazing round roll...so good!
They also make a nice salad pita wrap.

Overall, a quality place to pick up a sandwich, coffee and sundae!

 

Susan G.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

2/19/2009

 

The owner is probably the sweetest kindest man in all the world.  He is very community oriented and looks to help whenever he can.
Moving onto the food/drinks/atmosphere where do I start?  The sandwiches are excellent! The bread is fresh as are all the toppings.  They have plenty of vegetarian options!
The coffee is fantastic and comes in a plethora of flavors daily.  Any custom coffee drink you can imagine they have as well: cappuccino, iced lattes, ice cream craziness flavorfest.
The atmosphere is friendly and perfect for an early morning egg sandwich and coffee or late night homemade soup/sandwich/salad and homemade ice cream/cookie.  They also have a fridge with smoothie drinks!
A++ in my book!

 

Alicia N.

 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 
4/14/2010

 

It saddens me to see anything less than amazing reviews for Arpeggio.

The first time I went I got the Tuna Florentine.  I don't know if I have ever seen such a big sandwich in my life.  At first I thought the idea of long grain rice in tuna seemed a bit odd (who thought that one up?!), but it really works.  Put it on a super-sized toasted wrap with melted cheese and warm veggies and I might just be in heaven.

I contemplated never ordering anything again (why mess with perfection?) but I have since deviated and have never been disappointed.

The mango red bean smoothie was super refreshing on a hot day and chai latte perfect on a cold day (oh how I love New England weather...)

Bonus points for being open until 9 every day.
Negative points for no delivery (though then my like for Arpeggio may turn into an obsession) and negative points for slow service (though it does always come with a smile).

Overall, solid 4 stars.

 

Nicole V.

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

1/18/2011

 

Great place to grab a quick sandwich for lunch or breakfast. I'm a big fan of their veggie burger, and pretty much every ice cream flavor I've tired here. (Which, I'll admit, is quite a few.) And their specialty sundaes are amazing, especially the S'mores one. They're definitely enough to share with a friend or two.

The line gets really long on Saturday and Sunday mornings because they make fresh breakfast sandwiches, but I've never waited long on a weekday morning.

 

Alison N.

 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

6/13/2008

 

I come here almost daily for lunch or coffee or both.  Their coffee is really amazing; easily the best place to get an espresso-based drink for miles.  On their menu they have a vegetarian sandwich section, and the vegan hummus & tabbouleh wrap is amazing.  I can't make a sandwich that good myself.  It's full of fresh veggies and it's huge (they don't wrap their sandwiches tightly, though, so be prepared for a messy dining experience).  They always have at least 2 or 3 soup options, and if you get a bowl, spring an extra 99 cents for a crusty roll, which is perfect for dunking.  They also have awesome quiche.

It's small, none of the chairs, tables and couches match, and it's a breeding ground for regulars (so be prepared to see the same folks everyday).  Plus the staff are really on the ball (they hustle AND they're nice about it).  Free wifi and you can eat outside in the summer, too.  Overall awesome.

 

Toni F.

 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------